1. Registering for the Forum

We require a human profile pic upon registration on this forum.

After registration is submitted, you will receive a confirmation email, which should contain a link to confirm your intent to register for the forum. At this point, you will not yet be registered on the forum.

Our Support staff will manually approve your account within 24 hours, and you will get a notification. This is to prevent the many spam account signups which we receive on a daily basis.

If you have any problems completing this registration, please email support@jackkruse.com and we will assist you.

Getting into Ketosis

Discussion in 'The Epi-Paleo Diet' started by MouseBandit, Apr 13, 2019.

1. Hi all. I'm fairly new to JK and 3-1/2 weeks into eating Keto. I have lost 14 lbs, 10 of that the first 10 days, and very slowly since. My appetite has decreased dramatically, and I suspect that the weight loss has primarily been calorie deficit.

I got a blood ketone meter earlier this week and have been monitoring my levels. I've not gone above 0.4 all week, despite eating strict keto. I have been testing in the morning, and just found and read the "ketosis experiment" thread, and I re-tested just now (4 hours after waking up), and I'm still at 0.4.

Until today, I have been including a little dairy in my diet (2 tsp HWC in coffee, butter in coffee, a cheese stick or a tbls of grated parmesan) and erythritol and stevia as sweetners. Starting this morning, I am cutting out all dairy, to see if that changes things.

Is it likely that I've not been in ketosis at all these 3-1/2 weeks? I realize that I am not "fat adapted" yet, and won't be until I've been in ketosis for some time.