Optimal Homemade Kevita

Discussion in 'The Epi-Paleo Diet' started by Souldanzer, Apr 18, 2012.

1. Souldanzer

Souldanzer Banned

I'm a fizzy, fermented drink junkie :D

Kevita opened a whole new world recently... and was emptying my wallet! I'm a pro at making Kombucha so I went on a mission to figure out the recipe. I'm a purist, so I actually like it better without the "natural flavors" added but I guess one could add some flavored stevia/juice if you care.

Ingredients:

- coconut water

- spring water

- pure probiotic powder (me thinks this would work with water kefir grains)

Add the coconut water to the bottles, about 1/4 to 1/3 of the bottle (I use original Kevita bottles that I saved and cleaned).

Fill the rest of the bottle with spring water.

Add the probiotic powder (takes very little to work, I add maybe 2 billion? and am decreasing the amount as I am experimenting).

Stir it up a bit if you care.

Put the lid on loosely and place in a warm spot.

After 24hrs, I tighten the lids.

2-3 days later (depending on temps) check for fizziness, if fizzy, refrigerate, if not, leave it out some longer.

ENJOY.

If you want to flavor, do it after the initial 24 hr fermentation. Sweeten with stevia if you want the original Kevita flavor/sweetness but keep it super low carb.

EDIT: Changed the recipe up a bit to work faster (don't skip the 24 hours aerobic fermentation before tightening the lids). This works with anything that has sugar in it... I've made a batch with a bit of 100 percent fruit juice diluted with water... fizzy.
  2. sandy

sandy New Member

thanks for posting

I am looking for a sub for my diet soda and I like fizzy

1- spring water? is this just bottled water?

2- does it matter what kind of coconut water you use? where do you get yours? coconut water is kind of pricey, isn't it?

3- where to get probiotic powder? how much is very little?

4- how warm does it have to be? I am all about the cold these days- our house is probably 50-60